Many initiatives were undertaken by international and national organisations to help Mediterranean countries develop MPAs and improve their management, based on the measures and recommendations issued under the above international agreements.

The proposed actions include studies and field surveys to identify marine areas of conservation interest, assistance (scientific, technical and legal) and capacity building and awareness raising actions as well as networking initiatives aimed at promoting exchanges of experiences and lessons learned.

However, despite the efforts deployed and an existing network of MPA managers, the Mediterranean's network of MPAs is still suffering from significant weaknesses , in particular the lack of coherence and representativeness, as well as inadequate management in a number of existing MPAs. This observation shows that even if a group of individual sites exists, it is not yet a network. In addition, the difficulties in the past to achieve the internationally defined objectives must lead us to develop new intervention methods and revise each and everyone's policies (manager, national authorities, institutions, donors, NGOs, researchers, ...).

 

Valuable opportunities which could help to improve the Mediterranean network of MPAs are the following:

  • the SAP/BIO   ongoing revision process within the Barcelona Convention's framework 
  • applying the Ecosystem Approach under the Barcelona Convention, 
  • Implementing international agreements for the open sea associated to its biodiversity.
  • the remaining steps for implementing the MSFD, Natura 2000 at sea, the new CFP by EU Member States,
  • the follow-up action of the Rio+20 Conference and meetings of the Parties to the CBD, including the main commitments expressed at the conference ("The Future we want").

Furthermore, the momentum generated by the CBD Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020 should be maintained and regularly reinforced to help Mediterranean countries achieve the Aichi targets and in particular Target 11 : 

The prospect of achieving the Strategic Plan for Biodiversity in the Mediterranean on time will only be possible if the national authorities, NGOs, scientific research organisations, national agencies responsible for MPAs, MPA managers, local communities, private sector stakeholders (fishing, tourism, etc..) as well as donors, not only renew and reinforce their commitment to this strategy, but also develop synergies and make economies by working together in a more collaborative and significant way.

 
 

 

Improving the state of the Mediterranean MPA network requires that the following challenges be met:

  • Make the current system of MPAs in the Mediterranean more ecologically representative and coherent in terms of its vindication, its geographical coverage and particularly the connectivity between MPAs. 
  • Increase human and technical resources (exchange of experiences, tools, methods, ...) linked to the management of MPAs.
  • Increase financial resources and mechanisms linked to biodiversity and MPAs.
  • Manage effectively and efficiently existing MPAs in the Mediterranean.
  • Strengthen the synergies between all stakeholders on a local, national and international level. 
  • Integrate governance and legal-institutional frameworks in order to clarify action plans and ensure the sustainability of measures and MPAs.
  • Enhance the MPAs laboratory and innovative role (technical, social, governance).
  • Ensure the sustainability and efficiency of a MPA managers' network.
  • Contribute to a sustainable management of Mediterranean resources.
  • Develop activities to inform and educate on the MPAs environment, marine biodiversity and the interaction with sea users.

Sur la base des dispositions et recommandations émises dans le cadre des accords ci-dessus, de nombreuses initiatives ont été entreprises par les organisations internationales et nationales, afin d'aider les pays méditerranéens à développer les AMP et à améliorer leur gestion.

Les actions proposées comprennent des études et les enquêtes de terrain afin d'identifier les zones marines présentant un intérêt pour la protection, de l'aide (scientifique, technique et juridique) et des actions de renforcement des capacités et de sensibilisation, ainsi que des activités de mise en réseau destinées à promouvoir des échanges d'expérience et des leçons apprises.

Cependant, malgré les efforts déployés, malgré l'existence d'un réseau de gestionnaires d'AMP, le réseau méditerranéen des sites d'AMP souffre encore de faiblesses significatives , en particulier d'un manque de cohérence et de représentativité écologique, ainsi que d'une gestion peu effective de nombreuses AMP existantes. Ce constat montre que si un groupe de sites individuels existe, il n'est pas encore un réseau. De plus, les difficultés passées pour atteindre les objectifs définis internationalement doivent nous conduire à développer de nouvelles méthodes d'intervention et réviser les politiques de chacun (gestionnaire, responsables nationaux, institutions, bailleurs, ONG, chercheurs,…).

Les opportunités précieuses qui pourraient aider à améliorer le réseau méditerranéen des AMP sont les suivantes :

  • Le processus en cours pour la révision du PASBIO  dans le cadre de la Convention de Barcelone 
  • L'application de l'approche écosystémique  dans le cadre de la Convention de Barcelone, 
  • La mise en place d'accords internationaux sur la mer ouverte associés à la biodiversité.
  • Ls étapes restantes de la mise en application par les États membres de l'UE de la DCSMM, de Natura 2000 en mer, de la nouvelle PCP,
  • La suite de la conférence de Rio+20 et des réunions des parties de la CDB, comprenant les engagements principaux exprimés lors de la conférence ("L'avenir que nous voulons")
  • Le suivi de la feuille de route pour 2020

En outre, l'élan généré par le Plan Stratégique pour la Diversité Biologique 2011-2020 de la CDB devrait être maintenu et renforcé régulièrement pour aider les pays méditerranéens à réaliser leurs objectifs, et en particulier l'objectif d'Aichi n°11 : 

La perspective d'une réalisation des objectifs du Plan Stratégique pour la Diversité Biologique en Méditerranée, dans les délais, sera uniquement envisageable si les autorités nationales, les ONG, les organismes de recherche scientifique, les agences nationales en charge des AMP ainsi que les gestionnaires des AMP, les populations locales et les acteurs du secteur privé (la pêche, le tourisme, etc.) et aussi les bailleurs, non seulement renouvellent et renforcent leur engagement dans cette stratégie, mais développent également  des synergies et des économies d'échelle, en travaillant ensemble d'une manière plus collaborative et significative.

 

L'amélioration de l'état du réseau méditerranéen des AMP nécessite que les défis suivants soient relevés :

  • Rendre le système actuel des AMP en Méditerranée écologiquement plus représentatif et plus cohérent au regard de sa justification, de sa couverture géographique, de la connectivité entre AMP notamment. 
  • Renforcer les moyens humains et les moyens techniques (échanges d'expériences, outils, méthodes, …) associés à la gestion des AMP
  • Renforcer les moyens et mécanismes financiers associé à la biodiversité et aux AMP.
  • Gérer les AMP existantes en Méditerranée de manière effective et efficace
  • Renforcer les synergies entre toutes les parties prenantes au plan local, national et international
  • Intégrer les gouvernances et les cadres juridico-institutionnels en vue d'une clarification des dispositifs et la pérennisation des mesures et des AMP
  • Valoriser le rôle de laboratoire et d'innovation des AMP (technique, sociétal, gouvernance)
  • Assurer la pérennité et l'efficacité du réseau des gestionnaires des AMP
  • Contribuer à une gestion durable des ressources méditerranéennes
  • Développer des activités d'information et d'éducation à l'environnement sur les AMP et la biodiversité marine et l'intéraction avec les usagers.